h1

Baked Oatmeal

2011/10/23

recipe from super natural every day – heidi swanson

Shopping List:
2C Rolled Oats (not instant)
1/2C Toasted Walnuts, chopped
1/3C Cane Sugar
1tsp Baking Powder
1 1/2tsp Ground Cinnamon
1/2tsp Sea Salt
2C milk
1 Large Egg
3Tbs Melted Unsalted Butter, cooled slightly
2tsp Pure Vanilla Extract
2 Ripe Bananas, cut into 1/2″ slices
1 1/2C Berries

Preheat to 375 – generously butter inside of a 8″ square baking dish.

In a large bowl, mix oats, half the walnuts, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon + salt.
In another bowl, whisk milk, egg, half of the butter, + vanilla.
Arrange bananas in a single layer in the bottom of baking dish, sprinkle 2/3 of the berries on top. Cover fruit with oat mixture and slowly drizzle milk mixture over oats. Gently tap the dish on counter to ensure milk moves through oats. Scatter remaining berries + remaining walnuts across top.
Bake 35-45 mins, until top is nicely golden and oats have set. Remove from oven, allow to cool- drizzle remaining melted butter on top and serve.
serves 6

20111023-093539.jpg

My alterations…
John rides his bike every Sun morning and my dad was out golfing so I was just cooking for my mom and I so I halved all the ingredients and just used the egg white instead of the whole egg. I only had chopped bagged walnuts so I threw them in a small skillet on low until they were just barely fragrant and browned. I also subbed maple syrup for the sugar. [+ accidentally used baking soda instead of powder, ha but i don’t recommend that unless you don’t have powder…then the soda worked out fine…] I should have still used two bananas instead of one because they’re so delicious and I used a smaller oval baking dish instead of an 8″ square. I only baked 30 mins and it was perfect! Using blueberries made it slightly “ugly” since they bled but the pop of juice was worth it. Mmmmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

